Marshmallow kisses

Marshmallow kissMarshmallow kiss beforeMarshmallow kisses are a treat that I’ve only seen in Scandinavia and Germany and wonder whether the marshmallow kisses of Canada and the US are the same? Here in Northern Europe (specifically Denmark, where I’m from), a marshmallow kiss was formerly known as a negro kiss. However as the tone for political correctness has changed that name slowly phased out in the 80’s and 90’s and it is now called a cream bun or in Danish, flødebolle (although I use the name marshmallow kiss as it appears to be the correct translation).

It is a sweet that consists of a base, either made of a wafer or marcipan, filled with a fluffy meringue and covered in chocolate. As it is often something kids bring to class on their birthdays to pass out, most of my memories concerning the marshmallow kiss has been eating it either quickly or in a corner in a state of paranoia. In a classroom, the risk of someone smacking and smearing the meringue all over your face was simply too big to ignore.

Marshmallow kisses (Danish/Nordic version)

makes 30+ kisses

500 g of raw marzipan

300 g of sugar

1 dl of water

2 tsp of vanilla sugar

150 g of egg whites (about 4)

400 g of dark chocolate

  1. Roll out and cut your marzipan into round discs of about 5 mm thickness. Bake them at 200 degrees celsius for about 5 minutes. Take them out and let them cool.
  2. Bring sugar, water and vanilla to a boil and turn the heat to medium. Stir to make sure the sugar and vanilla has dissolved and the syrup has just started to color.
  3. Start whisking your eggwhites. When it starts to foam, add the (hot!) syrup in little by little. Keep whisking until the meringue stiffens and forms peaks. (Note: This can take a while, about 20 minutes in my case!)
  4. Fill the meringue into a piping bag and pipe it onto the marzipan bases. Let it rest for about two hours at least at room temperature or cooler to further stiffen.
  5. Melt chocolate over a hot water bath and then either dip the marshmallows in the chocolate or (if you’re less brave) use a silicone brush to cover them in chocolate.

Note: If you don’t have a piping bag, you can use a freeze bag and cut of a corner instead, which is what I did. Original recipe here.

7 comments

  1. huntfortheverybest

    these look like amazing little bites!

    • sayhellohellome

      They are! Although if you’re greedy or feeling bad about yourself, you can always make big ones.

  2. Lauren S.

    I tried making these today for my dad for his birthday, but could not get the meringue to stiffen up enough. I refrigerated them hoping that might help, but they just melted into puddles of goo when I tried to coat them in the chocolate. Wondering if my kitchen was too hot, maybe? I wanted these to work out SO badly!! :/

    • sayhellohellome

      I’m sorry to hear it didn’t work out 😦 Hopefully you and your dad had a nice day anyway.

      I can imagine temperature might have a role to play. They can be frail and finicky things. Usually when I’ve made them, it takes a really long time to stiffen up. It might also be that not enough of the water has boiled away during the process of making the syrup?

      Anyway I’ve also seen recipes using glucose syrup, which I could image might hold up better than a syrup made from sugar and water. I haven’t tried, because I don’t know what else I would use glucose syrup for. So the recipe I’ve translated is the one I usually use.

      I’ve found a video here. The girl is speaking Danish but it might visually help to see the look of the syrup and meringue.

  3. Lauren S.

    Thank you for your suggestions! I actually ended up baking the meringue-topped marzipan BEFORE coating them in the chocolate (after letting them cool), and they turned out GREAT! Everyone could not stop talking about (or eating) them! So maybe it was a happy mistake 🙂 Thanks!!

  4. DavidSG

    My first attempt was a miserable failure – the mix never stiffened. I concluded I should have boiled away all the water.

    I am having another go right now. I boiled the syrup and monitored the temperature. It will rise once all the water is gone. I took it up to about 150C.

    This time the mix got “fairly” stiff, but they are still slumping badly in the fridge, as I type. I suspect the mechanism is that the hot syrup cooks the egg white, then as it cools the sugar becomes more rigid and stiffens the mixture. My kitchen is quite warm right now, which may be a problem. Next time I will try the beating in an ice water bath!

    I am determined to get this to work. It’s either that or go to Denmark just to get some – from Australia! 🙂

    • sayhellohellome

      I’m glad you’re not giving up. 🙂 Make sure that everything you use is super clean. Once I used a bowl that hadn’t cleaned enough and the mix wouldn’t stiffen at all.

      You could also try to bake for 5 min at 180 degrees after you’ve put the merengue on the base to get a skin on them that you can then apply chocolate onto.

Leave a Reply

