Kransekage

KransekageThis is a soft marzipan biscuit that is traditional in Denmark around new years. Usually they’re piped out in triangles, made into rings and stacked together to look like a pretty festive cone or indeed a christmas tree. If you google “kransekage”, you will see what I mean. Though I had intentions of doing this at first, I decided sloppy, flat ovals would look SOOO much better. It was either that… or the fact that I didn’t have a piping bag and thought I could instead shape it into triangular logs.

Anyway, so I end 2013 with a little failure. If anyone should wish to attempt this. The recipe I used can be found here in it original Danish form, while here is my English translation of it. Although I wasn’t succesful, do try it and Happy New Year to you all!

Kransekage

500 g of raw marcipan

200 g of sugar

100 g of egg whites (about 3)

  1. Mix egg whites and sugar and leave for about an hour for the sugar to dissolve. (It shouldn’t be whipped into a foam)
  2. Work the egg white mixture and the marzipan together to form a dough.
  3. Fill a piping bag with the marzipan dough and with a big triangle tip, pipe out the dough into small logs onto a parchment lined baking tray.
  4. Leave to airdry for about an hour before baking in a preheated oven at 200 degrees celsius for 8-10 minutes.
  5. Let it cool and drizzle some icing onto it in a zig zag pattern. (Please look at the original recipe for a visual clue, since I gave up on that, when mine were flat)
Leave a Reply

