Wakame and cucumber salad

Wakame saladSummer is simply not a good time for cooking. It’s too hot and the last thing I want to do is stand over a gas stove, so instead I’ve been looking at things I can do without contributing to the heat that already surrounds me and found this recipe for salad.

Cucumbers in Japan and people’s relationship to them are quite different in Japan compared to Denmark. First of all, they’re small here and second of all they’re sold at festival stalls on sticks as a snack in the summer. Why would you want to eat a cucumber as a snack, when the next stall might have ice cream readily available? Also, why would you need to put it on a stick?

4 comments

  1. Oh how refreshing! Adding harusame goes well too.

    • sayhellohellome

      I just googled harusame, looks similar to glass noodles. I suppose they’re the same and the texture would go well in this!

  2. Thank you so much for trying my recipe and linking back to my post. 🙂 Interesting question! Cucumbers at the festival stalls are usually pickled…maybe that’s why people prefer to hold it with something rather than holding with hands or fingers? 🙂 Thanks again!

    • sayhellohellome

      Hi Nami, thanks for visiting my site. I often browse through Just One Cookbook for Japanese recipes and really enjoy the photos as well. I didn’t know they were pickled, never really been tempted into buying a cucumber stick, so I wouldn’t have known.

Leave a Reply

