Daigaku imo

Daigaku imoDaigaku imo (University potatoes) is a sweet snack made of Japanese sweet potatoes and usually found at university festivals in the fall, hence the name. I however first tried them when my host family made for me and since have learned the recipe or rather a loose outline on how to make it from them. Although it sounded very easy when they showed me, I have somehow managed to not do it right for quite a number of times (usually too much sugar and too hard). So I decided to write down what I did to see where I went wrong, and after a while I ended with this recipe which is about right I think.

Daigaku imo

1 Japanese sweet potato (red/purpleish skin and white on the inside)

3 tbsp sugar

oil

2 big dollops of butter

  1. Wash and cut the sweet potato into bite-size pieces. Let them rest in bowl of cold water.
  2. Meanwhile pour oil into a pan, enough to give you about 5 mm. Add sugar and butter and melt over low to medium heat.
  3. Once the butter and sugar has melted, dry the sweet potato thoroughly before you add them to the pan. Fry the sweet potato over medium heat and make sure to flip them around on all sides to coat them.
  4. Once they are browned, spear them with a toothpick to make sure they are cooked (should be soft and easy to spear) and serve warm sprinkled with black sesame seeds.
4 comments

  1. In front of my Japanese elementary school, when school was out, there was a push cart street vendor selling these delicious treats. Natsukashii!

  2. veenashankar

    tasty and simple snack

  3. Interesting snack. Thanks for sharing. Is this only eaten as a snack or is it sometimes a side dish too? I would have guessed they were baked by looking at them, but I’m glad they’re not as our oven doesn’t work!

    • sayhellohellome

      I think it’s only eaten as a snack as it is quite sweet, so I’m not sure what it would go with.
      They look healthy don’t they 😉 But believe me they’re not.

Leave a Reply

