Æbleskiver

ÆbleskiverThese are basically pancakes in a ballshape, puff pancakes. In Denmark they’re called æbleskiver and are usually eaten around christmas, but since I’m not in Denmark I’m going to eat them whenever I want to (also I have a takoyaki machine that I want to use as much as possible), so I made some well after christmas. Æbleskiver translated means apple slices, however they are neither slices nor do they contain apples, so why exactly it is called that, I have no idea.

On the photography related note, this is the first picture on this blog not taken in daylight. The only lightsource I had was my ugly hanging-from-the-center-of-the-room halogen lamp, which is not the most inspiring nor manipulable light there is. However using a big flamingo board, I shielded my scene and thus softened the light a bit. The rest is of course camera settings/photoshop (mostly photoshop), but I’m quite happy with the result, also because it means that I don’t need to cook elaborate things at lunch and eat a cold leftover dinner, because it’s possible to take pictures without daylight.

Æbleskiver

Makes about 28.

2.25 dl milk

50 g butter

1½ tsp baking powder

2 eggs (separated)

200 g flour

2 tbsp sugar

Butter for cooking

  1. Warm up the milk and melt the butter in it.
  2. Mix the egg yolks, flour, sugar and baking powder into the milk and butter mix.
  3. Whip the egg whites until stiff and fold them into the batter. Then leave the batter to rest in the fridge for about 1/2 an hour.
  4. Butter the takoyaki machine (or any pan that has holes will do) and fill the holes up. It should not overflow, but they should be full in order to get round æbleskiver. Once they are slightly cooked on the bottom but still liquid, flip them over a quarter, wait for a bit and then flip them over completely to create the round ball shape.

Note: They’re not particularly sweet, so they’re usually eaten with jam/icing sugar.

3 comments

  1. Lovely! These remind me of poufergies (sp?) that I had in Amsterdam. Probably similar. Little round balls of delicious.

  2. sayhellohellome

    Yeah, I think I read somewhere that Netherlands had these as well. And obviously deliciousness is multiplied everytime food is served in a ballshape.

  3. I don’t eat takoyaki, not keen on octopus. However, this one, I die for. How clever to use the takoyaki gadget. 😀 Fae.

Leave a Reply

