Persimmon

PersimmonAfter coming to Japan I have been first of all surprised by how expensive fruit is and second of all how many persimmons there are around here. In supermarkets, on trees, smattered on the street… they’re everywhere!

In Denmark persimmons are rare (as in imported) and second of all expensive so I’ve never bought them. Furthermore they look like tomatoes which makes me draw associations to vegetables. So because of that it took me a while to buy some here in Japan, simply because I think of them as vegetables even though I know they’re fruits.

I still find them a bit weird but since they’re amongst the cheapest kind of fruit here, I will succumb to buying them.

However it has made me think: What kind of things can you do with a persimmon?

Leave a Reply

